Security
click here to print this page

SAND eCRM is built with the latest security technology available. You can use SAND eCRM with the confidence that your information is being protected. Find out below more about SAND eCRM’s stringent security standards and features.

Encryption

SAND eCRM requires you to use 128-bit encryption if possible, also known as "domestic" or "U.S." grade encryption (See Domestic vs. International Encryption). To ensure that your browser uses this level of encryption click here.

You can verify that your data has been encrypted by looking at the following icons in the lower part of your browser:

Browser
Icon
Internet Explorer
Netscape
Netscape Navigator and older versions

 

Hovering on top of the icon will indicate the type of encryption being used. Double click on the icon to verify the site certificate (See Certificates).

 

Domestic vs. International Encryption

Domestic-grade encryption (128 bit) is exponentially more powerful than international-grade encryption (40 bit). 40-bit encryption has proven reasonable for brute force decryption using a high powered computer. Thus, using 128-bit encryption is much safer.

Certificates

Certificates are electronic files that act as an identifier for a web site. They are issued by trusted third party know as a certificate authority (CA). These certificates cannot be forged or tampered with in any manner. Certificates authenticate the site’s identity and ensure that you are in fact communicating with SAND eCRM and not with another impersonating site.

To view a certificate, click on the lock icon at the bottom of your browser (See Encryption). Doing so will allow you to view information about the CA as well as the site’s certificate owner.

Shared Computers

Each screen throughout the system is designed for optimal safety on shared computers. Logging out of the system (See Logout), or closing your browser is enough to ensure that your session is terminated and thus information is unavailable to others. You can also clear your browser session by following the subsequent steps:

If you use Internet Explorer, follow these steps:
1. Click on "Tools" on the toolbar at the top of your page.
2. Select "Internet Options"; then select "Temporary Internet Files".
3. Next select "Delete Files" and choose "Delete All Offline Content" from the pop up box.

If your browser is Netscape, follow these steps:
1. Click on "Edit" on the toolbar at the top of your page.
2. Select "Preferences" from the menu.
3. Select the '+' sign beside the "Advanced" category from the left-hand side of the Preferences box.
4. Select "Cache" from the choices that appear under "Advanced".
5. Click the "Clear Memory Cache" button on the right hand side of the Preferences box and click 'ok' from the pop-up confirmation box that appears.
6. Click on the "Clear Disk Cache" button on the right hand side of the Preferences box and click 'ok' from the pop-up confirmation box that appears.
7. Click "OK" at the bottom of the Preferences box.

Please remember to logout after each use, if you forget, the system will automatically log you out after a certain period of time has elapsed.